Codex Mannese – Fencers.

As promised two posts ago here come the Codex Manesse Fencers. First four gentlemen fighting with sword and buckler are wearing only Cotte and gloves. According to Sachsenspiegel such were requirements for judicial duel in German states so they are probably sides in trial by combat. Just my guess though, as in joust or at war I would expect the combatants to be armed as the fifth and sixth miniature – armoured and dressed in coat of arms.

Codex-Manesse_Fencers_lres

As it was a couple of times in the past, this time we have also two special guest stars. This time Sacredos (priest) and Scolaris (scholar or student) from Fechtbuch I33 (so called Tower Manuscript), the oldest surviving European martial arts manuscript – a treatise about sword and buckler combat. I have coloured them up a bit as the images in the original I33 manuscript are only tinted and would otherwise stand out from the rest of Codex Manesse miniatures. Comparing to contemporary Codex Manesse, I33 Fechtbuch is rather poorly drawn, and supposedly written in poor church Latin, but these two characters are too important for history of European fencing to leave them out of the fencers set.

6 thoughts on “Codex Mannese – Fencers.

  1. I just wanted to say that I love these and eagerly anticipate future sets. It makes me want to raid Bibliodyssey and learn GIMP, despite not having a gaming group.

    Nice work!

  2. I know this Codex Mannese paper minis series of yours for some time. But today I came here again and I had to post: You made a wonderful job with these figures!!!

    Unfortunately I don’t play as much as I would want… but still… I really like to look to them!

    • Hello Eris. Thanks for taking interest in my miniatures. As stated on all of them they are published acc to CC Attribution + Noncommercial + ShareAlike licence.
      So as long as you use them for non commercial purpose, give credit (a small info or link to my site would be nice) and share your work under similar conditions
      please feel free to use them as you like. After you make your wallpaper please drop me a link as I’m very curoius what would you make of it.
      (For CC licencing details see e.g. here https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/)
      Best Regards
      Krzysztof

Leave a Reply

